Skip to content ↓
Enfield Learning Trust View Our Video


Established in September 2016, the ELT Partnership is a formal partnership between a collection of Enfield based schools.

The overarching responsibility and accountability for governance of the Trust and its academies lies with the Board of Trustees, who meet three times a year.  

The Trustees are responsible for setting and monitoring strategic objectives, as well as ensuring compliance with charity and company law and the Trust’s funding agreement. 

The Trust Board has delegated these responsibilities to four committees, each with its own terms of reference. Chaired by a Trustee, each committee meets termly with their minutes submitted to the Board of Trustees for noting, comment and action. 

  • Education
  • Safeguarding, Health and Safety and Wellbeing
  • Resources and Finance
  • Pay                                                                                         

Statutory policies adopted by the Trust Board are reviewed on a rolling cycle.

Vision, ethos and direction

In partnership with the Executive team and the Headteachers, Trustees ensure that the culture of each school reflects the vision, ethos and direction of ELT Partnership described in its vision and values statement. 

Be Included:” The ethos for the ELT Partnership is strongly rooted in improving life chances of all pupils, where they can give and receive respect and have a strong sense of identity, well-being, worth and achievement. Our aspiration is that all pupils will develop the skills and attitudes necessary to prepare them for life now and in the future.

The ELT Partnership development plan is informed by an annual self evaluation of the Trust by Trustees, LEC members and staff. 

Quality of Education 

Accountability for the educational performance of each school is delegated to the Executive team who are also responsible for promoting and monitoring standards of safeguarding and ensuring high quality professional development and staff wellbeing. The Executive team consists of the Chief Executive Officer, Chief Finance Officer, Chief Standards Officer and Chief Operations Officer. 

The Education Committee oversees the educational performance of each school and the personal development and wellbeing of pupils.  The responsibility of the Education Committee is to ensure all pupils in each school receive the very best education through a broad, balanced and engaging curriculum. 

Each school has a Local Education Committee (LEC), comprised of parents, staff, executives and Trust appointed members. Their primary role is to enable school leaders to achieve the highest educational outcomes for all pupils, through monitoring the quality of education and by providing effective support and challenge. In cases where any school requires rapid improvement an Interim Management Board is formed in place of a LEC to deliver the necessary improvements until such time the Trust Board deem appropriate

The Trust Board is accountable for the financial performance of each school and delegates the operational management, regulation and oversight to the Chief Finance Officer, (CFO) in accordance with scheme of delegation. The CFO reports to the Finance and Resources Committee. The Finance and Resources Committee have responsibilities for issues of finance, risk, control and governance. 

Please follow the link to the ELT Partnership Governance page: 

ELT Governance

Hazelbury Local Education Committee



Date appointed

Term of Office

Trust Appointed LEC Member Chair

Keith Carrano

12.10.2021 11.10.2025


Laura Pearce

16.11.2016 N/A
Chief Executive Officer Androulla Nicou 01.01.22 N/A

Parent LEC Member

Henisha Jhagur

4.5.2021 3.5.2025
Parent LEC Member Aramide Ogunjobi 16.5.2021 15.5.2025

 Staff LEC Member

Melanie Bowman

16.04.2018 15.04.2022
Trust Appointed LEC Member Maria Karamanidou 22.10.2019 21.10.2023
Trust Appointed LEC Member Helen Brown 1.4.2019 31.3.2023
Trust Appointed LEC Member Louiza Louzides 13.10.20 12.10.24
Trust Appointed LEC Member Daniel Alldis 4.5.2021 3.5.2025

Contact details for the Chair of the Hazelbury Local Education Committee are as follows:

Keith Carrano

Hazelbury Primary School, Haselbury Road, Edmonton, N9 9TT